Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the week in which you file your application for benefits). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
How do I apply for benefits in Wyoming?
You can apply online or over the phone by contacting 1-307-473-3789.
How much will I receive?
The amount of unemployment benefits varies. It is dependent on how much you have earned in your base period. Your weekly benefit rate is 4% of your earnings in the highest paid quarter of the base period. The maximum weekly benefit amount is $508. The minimum weekly benefit for this same time period is $32. These numbers can change each year; they are determined by a formula in the Wyoming statutes. The formula is based on the average weekly wage in Wyoming and is recalculated each year.
How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but it will not last more than 26 weeks.
After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly either online or by telephone. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. To be actively seeking work, you must contact at least two employers each week you file for benefits. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
Your appeal must be filed within 28 days of the date the determination notice was mailed to you. Your appeal must be in writing, requesting a hearing. You can mail or fax a signed statement or can deliver the appeal to a Workforce Center. A list of Workforce Center locations can be found in the Claimant Handbook. If a hearing is held, you will need to participate by phone or in-person. The hearing will give you and other interested parties the opportunity to present testimony. The hearing officer will issue a written decision. Also, you must continue to file your claim while the decision is under appeal. If you win your appeal, you can only be paid for weeks you filed a claim.
For more information on Wyoming’s unemployment insurance laws:
Visit the State of Wyoming Website.
Read the Claimant Handbook.
© 2022 Workplace Fairness