Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be unemployed through no fault of your own. You must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
How do I apply for benefits in Rhode Island?
You can apply online https://uiclaims.state.ri.us/RI-ICS/intro/index.aspx?AC=yes or over the phone.
How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit rate will be equal to 4.62% of the wages paid to you in the highest quarter of your base period. By law, a maximum weekly benefit rate is determined annually. It is equal to 67% of the average weekly wage of all workers covered by the Employment Security Act. Your weekly benefit rate remains the same throughout your benefit year.
How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities (a sample record can be found in the Claimant handbook). Finally, you must accept suitable work.
I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal in writing within 15 days of the mailing date of the decision for denial. Decisions may be appealed online at www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/FormsUI.htm or by mail. Also, you should keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you could only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.
For more information on Rhode Island’s unemployment insurance laws:
Visit the State of Rhode Island Website http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/
© 2018 Workplace Fairness